Skip to main content

The G20

The G20

The Group of Twenty (G20) is the premier international forum for global economic cooperation. The members of the G20 are: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, and the European Union.

G20 members account for 85 per cent of the world economy, 75 per cent of global trade, and two-thirds of the world's population, including more than half of the world's poor. G20 leaders meet annually at the G20 Summit. Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors meet regularly. G20 ministerial meetings (e.g. trade, health, employment, agriculture) also occur as each G20 Presidency decides. G20 Engagement groups maintain a dialogue with policy makers. These groups represent civil society, business and labour leaders, the scientific and research community, think-tanks, women, and youth.

World map with G20 member countries highlighted.

The G20 and Australia

Australia supports a strong and effective G20. Australia benefits from G20 cooperation to support an open global economy and to protect the global financial system's stability. Follow the conversation with Australia's G20 Sherpa on Twitter @G20Australia.

Australia held the G20 Presidency in 2014 culminating in the Brisbane Summit in November 2014.

The G20 in 2020

Saudi Arabia holds the G20 Presidency in 2020. The normal G20 calendar has been changed due to restrictions put in place across the G20 membership in response to the coronavirus pandemic. G20 Leaders and Ministers have held virtual meetings to coordinate the international response to the pandemic and put the global economy on to a pathway to recovery.

Japan held the Presidency in 2019 and Italy will hold the Presidency in 2021.

Back to top